2019 Technical Meeting at Arlington County

Please join your ITE colleagues for a technical meeting at the Arlington County office on March 28th, 2019, to learn about the vision and plan to improve the Rosslyn street network, innovations in traffic impact assessment, and ITS initiatives in Arlington. This is a great precursor to the District meeting in Crystal City from March 31 to April 3.

Your attendance and participation will be highly valued in shaping the conversation on urban street design, innovation in multimodal and traffic impact assessment, and ITS technologies.

Lunch will be provided at the meeting. We look forward to seeing you!

PDHs will be offered for attendance at the technical meeting.


The program is as follows:

Thursday, March 28, 2019

First Floor of the Arlington County Office 

2100 Clarendon Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201

11:00-11:30 am: Registration and Networking (grab your lunch box)

11:30-12:00 pm: Core of Rosslyn Transportation Study

  • Christine Sherman Baker – Principal Planner, Arlington County
  • Dan Nabors – Engineering Design Team Manager, Arlington County

12:00-12:30 pm: Innovation in Traffic Impact Assessment

  • Rob Gibson – Principal Planner, Arlington County

12:30-1:00 pm: County ITS Initiatives

  • Amit Sidhaye – Traffic Engineering Manager, Arlington County
  • Josh Nicholas – Traffic Signal & ITS Engineer, Arlington County

Meeting Adjourns at 1 PM


Students, Retired, and Public Agency: FREE

ITE Member: $30

Non-ITE Member: $40 


2019 WDCSITE/ITSMD Student Workshop and Technical Meeting at Morgan State University Recap

A large number of students and professionals attended the March event at Morgan State.

WDCSITE and ITSMD jointly held their annual student workshop and technical meeting at Morgan State University on March 7, 2019. 

Students had the opportunity to meet with panels of transportation professionals in mock interviews, and they met with other transportation experts to improve and refine their resumes as they prepare to enter the professional industry. Networking opportunities were abound between students and professionals between the workshop and social settings with food. 

Members of WDCSITE help Morgan State students with their resumes.

Two technical presentations were given. Carole Delion from MDOT SHA presented on Maryland’s updates on connected and automated vehicles, gearing the presentations towards students to engage them in the topic.

Carole Delion (MDOT SHA) presents on Maryland’s connected and automated vehichles.

Dr. Celeste Chavis of Morgan State University presented alongside several of her students on the topic of food deserts in Baltimore and the associated transportation challenges residents face when purchasing groceries.

Dr. Celeste Chavis (Morgan State University) presents on food deserts.