2020 Annual Virginia and Washington DC Joint SimCap Meeting at TRB

WDCSITE and Virginia SimCap are delighted to invite you to the 2020 Annual Virginia and Washington DC Joint SimCap Meeting at TRB. You will be spending an evening with coffee and light refreshments, discussing and listening to – interesting array of presentations around hot topics like Connected and Automated Vehicles, Data Driven decision making in the context of Emerging Technology, Agency Guidance for Analysis, etc. Presenters would include representatives from VDOT, FHWA, and Verizon.

When: Tuesday, January 14, 2020; 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Where: Marriott Marquis Washington, University of DC (M1)
901 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001
PDH: 2 PDHs will be available to attendees that register.
Food / Refreshment: Refreshment and coffee/tea will be served during this event.


  • Registration and Networking (6:00 PM – 6:30 PM)

Program starts at 6:30 PM

  • Welcome and ITE Section Updates; Sanhita Lahiri, VDOT/ Dave Petrucci, FHWA /WDCSITE and VASITE representatives
  • FHWA Updates; Rachel James, FHWA
  • TOSAM Updates; Sanhita Lahiri, VDOT
  • DSS for Regional Multi Modal Mobility Program in Northern Virginia; Kevin Miller, Kapsch

Break with Coffee and Light Refreshments (7:30 PM – 7:50 PM)  

  • VDOT VISSIM User’s Guide and Lessons Learned from Updates; Britton Hammit and Jiaxin Tong, Kimley-Horn
  • Car-following Characteristics of Adaptive Cruise Control from Empirical Data; Noah Goodall, Virginia Transportation Research Council
  • FHWA Toolbox; Zhitong Huang, Leidos
  • Verizon 5G in Smart Cities and Autonomous Vehicles; TBD, Verizon

Meeting Adjourn – 9:00 PM


  • Presenter / Public Sector / Student / Retired: Free
  • Private-sector ITE Member: $20
  • Private-sector Non-ITE Member: $30

Meeting Contact


2019 WDCSITE Annual Conference and Business Meeting Recap

We had a large showing of public and private sector members join us for our 2019 WDCSITE Annual Conference and Business Meeting on November 14th at the National Union Building in Washington DC. It was a packed agenda at a unique venue with presentations on many different topics. We were also able to celebrate our many award winners.

We started the morning with two keynote speakers, Monique Evans (EFLHD) and Jeff Paniati (ITE), who spoke about the current efforts in their respective organizations.

The rest of the morning was dedicated to different presentations regarding connected and autonoumous vehicles. We heard perspectives regarding policy, planning, and operations. Katherine Kortum (TRB) provided a public sector angle while Kwasi Donkor and Sogand Karbalaieali (both Fehr & Peers DC) shared their experience from the private sector. Angie Hernandez (JMT) brought it all together with scenarios, audience polling questions, and a panel discussion with the previous presenters.

During the event, several awards were given in recognition of research, innovation and implementation efforts. A hearty congratulation from the WDCSITE board and leadership to all winners for their hard work. Below is a listing of the award winners recognized at this year’s annual meeting:

  • 2019 Past President Award – Seth Young, STV
  • 2019 Amy Polk Young Engineer of the Year Award – David Duarte, JMT
  • 2019 Appreciation Award – Emil Wolanin, Montgomery County
  • 2019 Transportation Service Award – Bob Garbacz, City of Alexandria
  • 2019 Community Transportation Award – Kanti Srikanth, MWCOG & Steve Kuciemba, WSP
  • 2019 WDCSITE Project of the Year Award – DDOT, Comprehensive Transportation Review (CTR) Guidelines
  • 2019 WDCSITE Student Scholarship – Yeming Hao and Aref Darzi, University of Maryland

After eating a tasty lunch, Vivek Hariharan presented a summary of WDCSITE’s year. Burak Cesme provided financials for the year and announced that Elisa Mitchell (Whitman) won the election to become the 2020 Baltimore Area Director. Congrats, Elisa! The business meeting was concluded with the swearing in of the new officer positions and an outlook of 2020 from incoming President, David Duarte.

The afternoon included two sessions. The first was Mobility, Planning, & Safety where we heard from a breadth of presentations. Dan Rathbone (City Prosperity) provided a big picture in the way communities plan mobility while Neelima Ghanta and Bo Du (both HNTB) provided a detailed look at a corridor project in Philadelphia and how they planned out for improved mobility for the many types of users. Zuxuan Deng (DDOT) discussed the safety implications related to conversion to all-way stop controlled intersections.

After a short break, we watched four multi-modal presentations from David Miller (Foursquare ITP), Josh Coulson (Sabra), Anam (Sabra), and Larry Marcus (Wallace Montgomery). David, Josh, and Anam provided updates to the excellent work they’ve done with MDOT MTA on BaltimoreLink and the Purple Line. Larry concluded the day’s presentations with a comprehensive review of what communities can do to bring together the everyone’s interests to form complete streets and networks. A huge thank you again to all the presenters and individuals that were part of a great conference!

Below are presentations from the opening remarks and technical sessions. All the files below are in PDF.

Opening Remarks

Connected and Automated Vehicles

Project of the Year

Multi-Modal Solutions